top of page

12 Foods That are Surprisingly Vegan

Updated: Jun 30, 2021

Recent surveys have found that up to 3% of the UK population follow a vegan diet. It is suggested that many more are put off going fully vegan because of one or two foods they feel they simply cannot give up. But did you know that going vegan doesn't mean you have to give up on all those treats you love.

We have put together a list of 12 treats that are surprisingly vegan

1) Skittles - Yes you can still taste the rainbow because these ever popular sweets are vegan. In 2010 Mars removed gelatine from Skittles and other sweets and has confirmed that no colours or flavours are of animal origin

2) Pringles – People popping and not stopping is probably the reason why Pringles are one of the most popular snacks in the world. Being vegan doesn't mean you have to stop entirely but it might mean you have to switch flavours. According to the ingredients the following flavours are suitable for vegans: Original, Sweet Chilli, Paprika, Smokey Bacon and Texas BBQ.

3) Skips – Despite no one knowing exactly what they are, we do know that Prawn Cocktail Skips are vegan! First launched in the UK in 1974 this tapioca based melt in the mouth snack once came in a doughnut flavour!! Bleurgh!

4) Marmite – Love it or hate it, it is vegan. To some Marmite is the best toast topping in existence, to others it is simply awful (We love it!). This yummy / not yummy yeast extract was confirmed to be vegan by Marmite themselves who state they “...couldn't possibly let anyone miss out...” Too right!!

5) Cadbury's Bournville Chocolate – This O.G dark chocolate is so good it even has a village named after it...or is it the other way round? We're not sure, but either way it is vegan. So get yourself down to Birmingham's Cadbury World and stock up.

6) Pot Noodle – Yes the ultimate in lazy meals has vegan options! While not all flavours are vegan, and only one is certified vegan (some flavours contain no ingredients of animal origin but are made on the same production line as those that do) there are still plenty of options including: BBQ Pulled Pork, Beef and Tomato, Bombay Bad Boy, Chinese Chow Main, Jerk Chicken, Sticky Rib, Sweet and sour and Japanese Miso Noodle Soup. What are you waiting for? Get the kettle on!

7) Foxes Party Rings – Bring back memories of those old school birthday parties with one the greatest biscuits ever to have roamed the earth. Back in 2015 Foxes removed all animal derived ingredients from the recipe, making them suitable for vegans!! Paaaaaartaaay

8) Ritz Crackers – Cheese and Crackers is something that many vegans say they miss. It's such a good wholesome snack! But fear not because Ritz Crackers are not only vegan but they are also so flipping tasty. Swap the cheese for a vegan topping and tuck in!

9) Guinness – Technically not a food, although a pint of it does feel like a full three course meal, Guinness is now vegan. Prior to 2015 the drink was filtered through something called isinglass which is basically fish bladders. Diageo, who make the Irish stout, has since removed this process. Cheers!

10) Jus Rol Pain au Chocolat - There are few things nicer than baked sweet treats straight from the oven and vegans do not have to miss out. The Pain au Chocolat from Jus Rol contains no butter or other ingredients of animal origin. Merci!!!!

11) HobNobs – The British make the best biscuits, there is no doubt about that. The McVities HobNob has to be right up there with the best ever and whilst vegans CAN'T dip a milk chocolate coated HobNob into their brew, the choc chip HobNobs are vegan!! DIP ME!!!

12) Lotus Biscoff Spread – Yes, the single greatest sweet spread, loved by all, hated by none is vegan. The Lotus Biscoff themselves are vegan and the spread is made from the biscuits plus oils and stabilisers, none of which come from animals!!

Remember manufacturers can alter ingredients from time to time. Make sure you always check the labels


bottom of page